RAISE 2020: Responsible AI for Social Empowerment 2020 – Virtual Summit

Raise 2020 virtual ai summit

The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) and NITI Aayog will organize a Mega Virtual Summit on Artificial Intelligence (AI), RAISE 2020- ‘Responsible AI for Social Empowerment 2020,’ from October 5-9, 2020. It will be inaugurated by the Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on October 5, 2020 at 7 PM. 

AI refers to the ability of machines to perform cognitive tasks like thinking, perceiving, learning, problem solving and decision making. Initially conceived as a technology that could mimic human intelligence, AI has evolved in ways that far exceed its original conception. With incredible advances made in data collection, processing and computation power, intelligent systems can now be deployed to take over a variety of tasks, enable connectivity and enhance productivity. As AI’s capabilities have dramatically expanded, so have its utility in a growing number of fields.

Artificial Intelligence is considered to be the next giant technological leap similar to electricity and the internet. With AI possessing the power to radically transform the economic and social fabric of the world we live in, it’s time to ask, how can we use AI responsibly for the good of humanity and for inclusive socio-economic development? The Responsible AI for Social Empowerment (RAISE 2020) virtual summit will be a Global Artificial Intelligence summit to be organized by the Government of India in partnership with Industry & Academia.

RAISE 2020 will be a global meeting of minds to exchange ideas and chart a course for using AI for social transformation, inclusion and empowerment in areas like Healthcare, Agriculture, Education and Smart Mobility, among other sectors.

At the RAISE 2020 Summit, delegates and experts in research, policy and innovation on Artificial Intelligence will join from across the globe. Keynote speeches and panel discussions will frame the summit, on cross-sector subjects like ‘Leveraging AI for Pandemic Preparedness’, ‘The Impetus that Innovation Places on Digitisation’, ‘Inclusive AI’, ‘Partnerships for Successful Innovation’ etc.

The RAISE 2020 Summit will also feature some of the most exciting startups working in Artificial Intelligence-related fields. Startups chosen through the AI Solution Challenge will showcase their solutions in the AI Startup Pitch fest scheduled on 6th Oct 2020. This is part of Government of India’s continuing support to tech entrepreneurs and startups by providing exposure, recognition and guidance.

RAISE 2020: Agenda

Day 1: 5th October 2020

7pm-9pm IST (1:30pm-3:30pm GMT)

Inauguration by Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi

In the august presence of Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad (Hon’ble MEIT), Prof. Raj Reddy (Turing Award Winner), Mr. Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Industries Ltd), Mr. Arvind Krishna (IBM), Shri Amitabh Kant (NITI Aayog) and Shri Ajay Sawhney (Meity)

Day 2: 6th October 2020

10:30am-12:30pm IST (5:00am-7:00am GMT)

Data and AI powered Financial Services

12:30pm-02:30pm IST (7:00am-9:00am GMT)

Towards Inclusive AI –Empowering 1 Billion+

02:30pm-06:30pm IST (9:00am-1:00pm GMT)

AatmaNirbharBharat AI Start-up Pitch Fest

7pm-9pm IST (1:30pm-3:30pm GMT)

Bridging communications and linguistic barriers with voice enabled AI

Day 3: 7th October 2020

10:30am-12:30pm IST (5:00am-7:00am GMT)

Building Skills for an AI Ready Workforce | Harnessing AI for growth: Opportunities & Challenges

12:30pm-02:30pm IST (7:00am-9:00am GMT)

AI Showcases by Ministry of Electronics and IT

02:30pm-04:30pm IST (9:00am-11:00am GMT)

Building A Future Ready Food Supply Chain with AI | Innovation in Healthcare through AI

04:30pm-5:00pm IST (11:00am–11:30am GMT)

Fireside Chat

AI is not Artificial at All: Keeping Humans at The CenterOf AI-driven Solutions

5pm-7pm IST (11:30am-01:30pm GMT)

New Age of Connected Healthcare: Delivering last mile access | AI Research – Lab to Market

7pm-9pm IST (1:30pm-3:30pm GMT)

Shaping young minds with AI | Unlocking data for Innovation, Public Services and Marketplaces

Day 4: 8th October 2020

10:30am-12:30pm IST (5:00am-7:00am GMT)

Scaling AI research to solve big societal problems | Using AI for addressing developmental challenges –Telangana Story

12:30pm-02:30pm IST (7:00am-9:00am GMT)

AI for All –Partnerships for Making AI Accessible & driving Innovation

02:30pm-04:30pm IST (9:00am-11:00am GMT)

Leveraging AI for learning

04:30pm-5:00pm IST (11:00am–11:30am GMT)

Fireside Chat

AI: The Economic Opportunity, Why India can’t afford To Wait

5pm-7pm IST (11:30am-01:30pm GMT)

Future of Work | Solutioning for Ethical AI

7pm-9pm IST (1:30pm-3:30pm GMT)

Infrastructure for AI led Innovation | Collaboration for data driven research and decision making

Day 5: 9th October 2020

10:30am-12:30pm IST (5:00am-7:00am GMT)

Leveraging AI for Pandemic Preparedness

12:30pm-02:30pm IST (7:00am-9:00am GMT)

AI Governance & Institutional Mechanism for Collaboration & Innovation

02:30pm-04:30pm IST (9:00am-11:00am GMT)

Promoting AI R&D in a safe, responsible and ethical manner

04:30pm-5:00pm IST (11:00am–11:30am GMT)

Fireside Chat

Creating a culture of AI Makers & Innovators

5pm-7pm IST (11:30am-01:30pm GMT)

Ethical and Responsible Approaches to AI | Impact of Data and AI in Smart Cities and Mobility

7pm-9pm IST (1:30pm-3:30pm GMT)

Closing Session

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *